Bio

Born in Berlin in 1979, Daniel Stawinski began his musical education at age 6 with classical piano. Some years later he started playing jazz under the guidance of Alexander von Schlippenbach and Aki Takase, two of Germany’s main free jazz pianists. As a teenager he was an active member of Berlin’s jazz scene, hanging out and playing in the nightly jam sessions in underground Berlin. From 2001 till 2005 he studied jazz piano at the Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler and joined the Bujazzo (German Youth Jazz Orchestra) directed by Peter Herbolzheimer. During this time he was part of numerous jazz bands, and played with virtually all salsa groups in Berlin.

After finishing his studies at the Conservatory, Daniel Stawinski decided to live in Paris, looking for new challenges and perspectives. He was attracted in particular by the strong presence of Latin-American and African music in the French capital. From 2005 to 2015 he has been working in France as well as in neighbouring countries (Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Great Britain, Netherlands…) within a musical spectrum going from jazz to Latin-American music, as well as related styles like African or popular Afro-American music.

Since 2015 Daniel Stawinski lives again in Berlin and has founded two new projects: the Kammerjazz Kollektiv, an ensemble between jazz, classical and latin-american music comprising three strings and piano, and a new piano trio with Igor Spallati on bass and Diego Pinera on drums.

Apart from giving concerts as a pianist, Daniel Stawinski works also as an arranger in jazz and salsa (for example for the Sophia Nelson Afro-Cuban Jazz Project). While in Paris he worked as a teacher for piano, harmony, arrangement, latin jazz combo at ISAAC, a music school specializing in Cuban music. He is currently teaching at the Global Music Academy in Berlin.

Daniel Stawinski has been performing in numerous countries around the globe (Norway, Italy, Spain, Lithuaina, Poland, Romania, Ukraine, Tunisia, Senegal, Brazil, Haiti, India, Nepal…) and in renowned jazz festivals such as Klavier Festival Ruhr 2003, Montreux Jazz Festival 2005, Marciac Jazz Festival 2009, Kathmandu Jazz Festival 2013, Movimentos Arts Festival 2014, Umbria Jazz Festival 2014, Cully Jazz Festival 2015, Schaffhauser Jazzfestival 2015, Marseille Jazz des 5 Continents 2015, Martinique Jazz Festival 2015, Jazz Festival de Port-au-Prince 2017, Jazz Festival de Saint-Louis 2017, Lviv Alfa Jazz Fest 2017… His Latin Jazz Project Clave Azul obtained first prize in the 2005 edition of the Berlin Jazz&Blues Award.

Biographie

Daniel Stawinski (geboren 1979 in Berlin) begann im Alter von 6 Jahren seine musikalische Ausbildung mit klassischem Klavierunterricht, einige Jahre später wechselte er unter Anleitung von Alexander von Schlippenbach und Aki Takase zum Jazz. Schon als Jugendlicher war er ein aktives Mitglied der Berliner Jazz Szene. Von 2001 bis 2005 studierte er Jazzklavier an der Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler und war Mitglied im Bujazzo unter der Leitung Peter Herbolzheimers. Während jener Zeit spielte er nicht nur in vielerlei Jazzbands, sondern auch in den meisten Salsagruppen Berlins.

Im Anschluss an sein Diplom an der Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler wechselte Daniel Stawinski 2005 nach Paris, auf der Suche nach neuen Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten. Insbesondere die stärkere Präsenz lateinamerikanischer und afrikanischer Musik in der französischen Hauptstadt zog ihn an. Von 2005 bis 2015 war er in Frankreich sowie in den Nachbarländern (Deutschland, Schweiz, Spanien, Großbritannien, Niederlanden…) im Spektrum zwischen Jazz und lateinamerikanischer Musik aktiv.

Seit 2015 lebt und arbeitet Daniel Stawinski wieder in Berlin, wo er sowohl das Kammerjazz Kollektiv (ein Ensemble aus 3 Streichern und Klavier) als auch ein neues Klavier-Trio (mit Igor Spallati am Bass und Diego Pinera am Schlagzeug) ins Leben gerufen hat.

Neben seiner Konzerttätigkeit als Pianist wirkt Daniel Stawinski auch als Arrangeur. Seine Arrangements sind sowohl im Jazz als auch im Salsa und Latin Jazz-Bereich gefragt (zum Beispiel für das Sophia Nelson Afro-Cuban Jazz Project). Als Musikpädagoge war er jahrelang an der Pariser Musikschule ISAAC in verschiedenen Fächern (Klavier, Harmonie, Arrangement, Latin Jazz Combo) tätig. Zur Zeit unterrichtet er an der Global Music Academy in Berlin.

Dank seiner intensiven Konzerttätigkeit ist Daniel Stawinski weltweit in zahlreichen Ländern aufgetreten (u.a. in Norwegen, Italien, Spanien, Litauen, Polen, Rumänien, Ukraine, Tunesien, Senegal, Brasilien, Haiti, Indien, Nepal…) und stand in renommierten Jazzfestivals auf der Bühne (Klavier Festival Ruhr, Montreux Jazz Festival, Marciac Jazz Festival, Kathmandu Jazz Festival, Movimentos Arts Festival, Umbria Jazz Festival, Cully Jazz Festival, Schaffhauser Jazzfestival, Marseille Jazz des 5 Continents, Martinique Jazz Festival, Jazz Festival de Port-au-Prince, Jazz Festival de Saint-Louis, Lviv Alfa Jazz Fest…). Mit seinem Latin Jazz Projekt Clave Azul gewann er 2005 den ersten Preis des Berliner Jazz&Blues Award.